ETC13 European Turbulence Conference

Warsaw 2011

ETC13 will be immediately followed by the Symposium

the Historical Perspective

16-17 September 2011

Faculty of Physics, University of Warsaw

Hoża 69, Warsaw, Poland

See video recordings of all lectures

Historical Turbulence

The Symposium will mark the publication

A Voyage Through Turbulence

by Cambridge University Press of a collection of essays written by the leading contemporary scientists on the lives and works of their famous predecessors in the field of turbulence research. The volume edited by Peter Davidson, Yukio Kaneda, Keith Moffatt and Katepalli Sreenivasan will feature:


Osborne Reynolds
(1842-1912), B. Launder & D. Jackson

Lewis Fry Richardson (1881-1953), R. Benzi

Ludwig Prandtl (1875-1953), E. Bodenschatz & M. Eckert

Theodore von Kármán (1881-1963), T. Leonard & N. Peters

Geoffrey Ingram Taylor (1886-1975), K. R. Sreenivasan

Andrey Nikolaevich Kolmogorov (1903-1987)
and the Russian school, G. Falkovich

George Keith Batchelor (1920-2000), H.K. Moffatt

Albert Alan Townsend (1917-2010), I. Marusic & T. Nickels

Robert Harry Kraichnan (1928-2008), U. Frisch & G. Eyink

Satish Dhawan (1920-2002), R. Narasimha

Pei-Yuan Zhou (1902-1993), S-Y. Chen

Stanley Corrsin (1920-1986), C. Meneveau & J. Riley

Philip Geoffrey Saffman (1931-2008), D. Pullin & D. Meiron















The Symposium will be composed of invited lectures by the Authors of several essays.

See the list of Speakers and the Programme.

We expect it to be a very special occasion of great interest to all adherents of fluid dynamics.
As a complement to the collection of essays the Symposium will be an appropriate celebration of the seventy years of the Kolmogorov's theory of homogeneous isotropic turbulence.

Registration is now open.

Practical matters are handled by the ETC13 Local Organising Committee, so if you have any questions or queries, please write to (always including cc:

Those who have already registered for ETC13 and want to participate in the Symposium, please log in to the electronic registration system and make sure you have selected the 'ETC13 + Historical Turbulence' option. This is essential as we need to know the exact number of Symposium participants.

Those who are going to register for the Symposium only, please note that the registration system is joint with ETC13. While registering for the Symposium only, you may ignore the fields concerning ETC13 only, but make sure you carefully fill in the rest, especially your personal data.

Symposium Organising Committee:

Konrad Bajer, Peter Davidson, Yukio Kaneda, Keith Moffatt, Katepalli Sreenivasan